State Committee for Research

SCoR Bylaws

Revised February 21, 2019

The Alaska State Committee for Research (hereafter referred to as SCoR) is an advisory body created to function as the State Committee for Alaska EPSCoR (Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research) and EPSCoR-like programs. This responsibility includes;

  • Oversight and guidance for the EPSCoR and EPSCoR-like programs in Alaska as competitively funded by the National Science Foundation and other federal agencies;
  • Promoting research and development as an enterprise and as an engine for economic development in Alaska.

Committee offices will be located at the University of Alaska in Fairbanks under the office of the University of Alaska (UA) Vice President for Academics, Students & Research.  FULL BYLAWS

State Plan for Research

Alaska Science and Technology Plan - To Build a Fire

Committee Members

Co-Chairs

Paul Layer
Vice President
Academics, Students & Research  
University of Alaska

907.450.8019
pwlayer@alaska.edu 

               Kevin Meyer 
               
Lt. Governor
                   
State of Alaska
                    907.465.3520
                     lt.governor@alaska.gov 

 

Members

Jon Bittner
Director
Alaska Small Business Development Center
907.786.7201
jbittne4@alaska.edu 

Aimee Devaris
Regional Director
U.S. Geological Survey
907.786.7091
adevaris@usgs.gov

Aaron Dotson
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Alaska Anchorage
907.786.6041

addotson@alaska.edu


ASRC Executive Vice President
Lands & Natural Resources
907.852.8633

Steve Gray
Director
USGS Alaska Climate Science Center
907.301.7830
sgray@usgs.gov

James Hemsath
Managing Dir/Sr Consultant
IntegrityOne, LLC  - and -
Adj Prof, College of Business & Public Policy
907.771.3040
jhemsath@aidea.org

Alex Hills
Distinguished Service Professor
Carnegie Mellon University
ahills@cmu.edu

Brian Holst
Executive Director
Juneau Economic Development Council
907.523.2333
bholst@jedc.org

Nettie LaBelle-Hamer
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Alaska Fairbanks
907.474.6000
allabellehamer@alaska.edu 

Mark Myers
Geologist
Retired

Anupma Prakash
Provost 
University of Alaska Fairbanks
907.474.7096
aprakash@alaska.edu 

Denise Runge
Provost
University of Alaska Anchorage
907.786.1050
drunge@alaska.edu 

Maren Haavig
Interim Provost
University of Alaska Southeast
mmhaavig@alaska.edu

Mead Treadwell
Former Lt. Governor
State of Alaska 
mead@treadwellalaska.com

Craig Fleener
Chief of Staff
Alaska North American Aerospace
Defense Command
chizhur@gmail.com

Ex Officio Members

Brian Barnes
Director, INBRE
University of Alaska
907.474.7649
bmbarnes@alaska.edu

Denise Thorsen
Director, NASA EPSCoR
University of Alaska
907.474.7052
dlthorsen@alaska.edu

Brenda Konar
Principal Investigator
Alaska EPSCoR
bhkonar@alaska.edu

 

Meeting Summaries

2021
December 15 AGENDA SUMMARY
June 17 AGENDA SUMMARY
2020
December 9 AGENDA SUMMARY
June 26 AGENDA SUMMARY
2019
December 18 AGENDA SUMMARY
September 18 AGENDA SUMMARY
February 20 AGENDA SUMMARY
2018
November 29 AGENDA SUMMARY
September 6 AGENDA SUMMARY
June 6 AGENDA SUMMARY
February 21 AGENDA SUMMARY