Academic Council

The scope and responsibilities of the Academic Council (AC) are outlined in Board of Regents' Regulation 10.02.020:

  1. articulating the overall academic mission;
  2. assigning the scope and responsibility for implementation of the mission;
  3. the administration and supervision of overall planning for instructional, research and creative activity, and public service programs;
  4. academic development and program review;
  5. development of the Academic Master Plan;
  6. advising the board on the status of current programs and the need for the addition or deletion of programs;
  7. facilitating student access to courses, programs, and academic support services;
  8. the review, revision, and administration of faculty personnel policies and procedures; and
  9. consulting with systemwide governance on matters of academic policy.

 

Academic Council Members

Paul W. Layer, Chair
Vice President for
Academics, Students & Research
Phone: 907.450.8019
pwlayer@alaska.edu
Anupma Prakash
Provost and
Executive Vice Chancellor

University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.7096
uaf.provost@alaska.edu
Denise Runge
Provost
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.1050
drunge@alaska.edu  

Maren Haavig
Interim Provost
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6353
mmhaavig@alaska.edu

Charlene Stern
Interim Vice Chancellor for Rural,
Community and Native Education
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone:907.474.5293
cbstern@alaska.edu

Priscilla Schulte
Community Campus Director  
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.228.4515
pmschulte@alaska.edu
Jak Maier
Associate Professor of
Developmental Education

University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.7328
jamaier@alaska.edu 
Jeff Jesse
Dean of Health
University of Alaska Anchorage 
Phone: 907.786.6057
jljessee01@alaska.edu 
Gökhan Karahan
Professor of Accounting
and Finance

University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.4132
gkarahan@alaska.edu 
Heather Batchelder
Associate Professor of Education
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6029
habatchelder@alaska.edu 
Steve Atwater
Executive Dean
Alaska College of Education
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6050
satwater@alaska.edu  
 
Additional Participants
Alexandra Fitts
Vice Provost and Accreditation
Liaison Officer 
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone:907.474.6253
affitts@alaska.edu


 
     
Ex Officio
Teri Cothren
Associate Vice President 
 Workforce Programs
University of Alaska Statewide
Phone: 907.786.1171
tgcothren@alaska.edu 

 

Gwendolyn Gruenig
Associate Vice President 
UA Data Strategy
and Institutional Research
Phone:907.450.8190
gdgruenig@alaska.edu