UA Scholars Program

Program Overview

The purpose of the UA Scholars Program is to provide an incentive for Alaska's middle and high school students to achieve academic excellence, to nourish efforts of schools to provide high quality education, and to encourage the top high school graduates from every community in Alaska to attend the University of Alaska.

The UA Scholars program continues to keep Alaska's top high school graduates in state while continuing their education at the University of Alaska. These students enrich the academic environment at UA as they develop in their roles as future leaders of Alaska. They also represent all the corners of the state and serve as ambassadors between their community and the university. The UA Scholars Program marks a turning point for Alaska.

The UA Scholar Award is awarded to the top ten percent of all graduating seniors from Alaska high schools.  It is a $12,000 scholarship to any of the 15 University of Alaska campuses. With over 500 degree and certificate programs to choose from you are likely to find a program that will help you meet your career goals.


The UA Scholars Program is funded solely by the University of Alaska through its land endowment. This program is the cornerstone of the University of Alaska's effort to retain in the state and to educate Alaska's brightest graduating high school seniors.

Quick Facts at a Glance

The UA Scholars Award is a $12,000 scholarship which can cover eligible expenses such as undergraduate tuition, fees, room, board, books, supplies, and other educational costs incurred for attendance at the University of Alaska.

Students eligible for the Award are designated by their high school based on their academic standing at the end of their junior year.

The award is disbursed to eligible Scholars in the amount of $1,500 per semester for a total of eight semesters over a five year period.

Scholars are required to maintain full-time enrollment status (minimum of 12 or more credits) and complete the minimum number of required credits annually (24 credits during academic year one increasing to 30 credits per academic year each year thereafter).* Scholars must also maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5.

*Applies to Scholars in the invited class of 2015 and beyond.

Back to Top