Academic Affairs and Research

State Committee for Research (SCoR)

SCoR Bylaws

The Alaska State Committee for Research (hereafter referred to as SCoR) is an advisory body created to function as the State Committee for Alaska EPSCoR (Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research). This responsibility includes;

  • Oversight and guidance for the EPSCoR program as competitively funded by the National Science Foundation and the related programs of other federal agencies;
  • Promoting research and development as an enterprise and as an engine for economic development in Alaska.

The committee offices will be located at the University of Alaska in Fairbanks.

continue...


State Plan for Research

Alaska Science and Technology Plan - To Build a Fire


Committee Members

Larry Hinzman (co-chair)
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Alaska Fairbanks
907.474.6000
ldhinzman@alaska.edu
Byron Mallott (co-chair)
Lt. Governor
State of Alaska
907.465.3520
byron.mallott@alaska.gov

Aimee Devaris
Regional Director
U.S. Geological Survey
907.786.7091
adevaris@usgs.gov

Craig Fleener
Arctic Policy Advisor
State of Alaska

Duane Hrncir
Interim Provost
University of Alaska Anchorage
907.786.1050
dhrncir2@alaska.edu

Richard Glenn
ASRC Executive Vice President
Lands & Natural Resources

Steve Gray
Director
USGS Alaska Climate Science Center
907.301.7830
sgray@usgs.gov

Larry Hartig
Commissioner
Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
DEC.Commissioner@alaska.gov

Jim Hemsath
Director - Project Development & Asset Management
Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority
907.771.3040
jhemsath@aidea.org

Susan Henrichs
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
University of Alaska Fairbanks
907.474.7096
smhenrichs@alaska.edu

Alex Hills
Distinguished Service Professor
Carnegie Mellon University
ahills@cmu.edu

 

 

Brian Holst
Executive Director
Juneau Economic Development Council
907.523.2333
bholst@jedc.org

Mark Myers
Geologist

Anupma Prakash
Principal Investigator
Alaska EPSCoR
907.474.1897
aprakash@alaska.edu

Mead Treadwell 
mead@treadwellalaska.com

Paula Martin
Interim Vice Provost for Research & Sponsored Programs
University of Alaska Southeast
907.747.7704
pjmartin2@alaska.edu

Fran Ulmer (ex officio)
Chair, US Arctic Research Commission
fran.ulmer@arctic.gov

Brian Barnes (ex officio)
Director, INBRE
University of Alaska
907-474-7649
Denise Thorsen (ex officio)
Director, NASA EPSCoR
University of Alaska
dlthorsen@alaska.edu

 

Back to Top