Office of Information Technology

IT Service Management

OIT has selected ITIL to allow for development of consistent processes to serve the increasing needs of the University community. The most current version of ITIL (v3) consists of five core books which focus on a lifecycle approach to service management. Each ITIL book covers an ITIL Service Management lifecycle phase; which also contain specific ITSM processes.

There are five key areas, or books, which are the building blocks for the ITIL infrastructure:

  1.   Service Strategy:
    Although service strategy is shown at the center of the lifecycle, it cannot exist in isolation in relation to the other parts of the IT structure. It includes a framework for defining best practices for developing a long-term service strategy.
    Processes: Demand Management, Service Portfolio Management, and Financial Management
  2.   Service Design:
    This area represents the design of IT Services conforming to best practices. It includes design of architecture, processes, policies, documentation, and allowances for future business requirements.
    Processes: Service Level Management, Service Catalog Management, Availability Management, Information Security Management, Supplier Management, Capacity Management, and IT Services Continuity Management.
  3.   Service Transition:
    This area relates to the delivery of business services into live/operational use. It often encompasses the “project” side of IT rather than “BAU” (Business As Usual).
    Processes: Change Management, Service Asset and Configuration Management, and Release and Deployment Management.
  4.   Service Operation:
    This area encompasses best practice for achieving the delivery of agreed levels of services both to end-users and to customers. Service Operations is the part of the lifecycle where services and value is delivered, as well as where problems are monitored and balance between service reliability and cost is considered.
    Processes and Functions: Event Management, Incident Management, Request Fulfillment, Problem Management, Access Management. Functions include Service Desk, Technical Management, IT Operations Management, and Applications Management.
  5.   Continual Service Improvement:
    This area relates to aligning and realigning IT Services to changing business needs by identifying and implementing improvements to the IT Services that support the business processes. To manage improvement, CSI should clearly define what should be controlled and measured.
    Processes: The 7-Step Improvement Process.
Back to Top