

Minutes

Saturday, August 17, 2013 Held at the Summit in Fairbanks, Alaska

9:00 a.m. Butrovich 109

1. Call to order, Roll Call and Introductions

Members Present:

Shauna Thornton, Speaker

UAA Student Governments:

Drew Lemish alternate for Andrew Lessig, Union of Students of UAA and ACPE Student Commissioner Teresa Cross, Kenai Peninsula College Student Union Michael DiBattista, Matanuska-Susitna Student Government Council Tatiana Topping, Prince William Sound Community College Student Association

UAF Student Governments:

Ayla O'Scannell, Associated Students of UAF Jason Smith, Kuskokwim Campus Student Government

UAS Student Governments:

Sharon Carter, United Students of UAS-Sitka Jarmyn Kramlich, Coalition Pro Tempore, United Students of UAS-Juneau

Staff Present:

LaNora Tolman, Executive Officer, System Governance Joseph Altman, Coordinator, System Governance

Guests Present:

Patrick Gamble, President of UA
Dana Thomas, Vice President of Academic Affairs
Kate Ripley, SW Public Affairs
Jessica Dominy, United Students of UAS-Juneau
Matthew Symons, United Students of UAS-Juneau
Keelan Mangus, Vice President, Matanuska-Susitna Student Government Council

2. Adopt Agenda

Michael motioned to adopt the agenda. Jarmyn seconded. Agenda adopted.

3. Approve Minutes

3.1. April 19, 2013 Attachment 3.1

Ayla motioned to approve April minutes as amended. Jarmyn seconded. April minutes were approved.

3.2. June 17, 2013 Attachment 3.2

Michael motioned to approve the June minutes. Ayla seconded. June minutes were approved.

4. Speaker's Report

Coalition was asked to get their class schedules in ASAP to accommodate setting the coalition meeting schedule for the fall semester. The spring schedule needs to be set in December when the spring schedules are finalized. In addition, it was suggested for each campus to get reports to include in the speaker's Governance Report to the Board of Regents. This will give the BOR a report of both the individual campuses as well as the coalition collective.

5. Elections

5.1. Speaker for 2013-14 year

Drew opened the floor for nominations. Sharon seconded. Through a unanimous ballot vote, Shauna Thornton was re-elected as speaker.

5.2. System Governance Council Representatives

Representatives for the 2013-14 year follow:

- 1 Small School Rep: Sharon Carter -Sitka
- 2 Medium Schools Rep: Jessica Dominy -Juneau, and Teresa Cross -Kenai
- 1 Large School Rep: Ayla O'Scannell -Fairbanks

6. Adjourn

Michael moved to adjourn. Ayla seconded. The meeting adjourned at 9:41 a.m.