News and Impact

Herrmann Receives University of Alaska Foundation Bullock Prize

The University of Alaska Foundation has selected University of Alaska Fairbanks’ Dr. Mark Herrmann as recipient of the 2019 Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence. Herrmann is Dean of UAF’s School of Management and a faculty member for 25-plus years. The Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence is the Foundation’s most prestigious award.

Former student Christi Bell, Associate Vice Provost and Executive Director of the University of Alaska Anchorage Business Enterprise Institute, stated in her nomination of Herrmann, “While Dr. Herrmann is a well-established and seasoned leader, he is simultaneously an up-and-coming leader of the UA system. This honor would not only recognize the work that Dr. Herrmann has already accomplished, but simultaneously recognize an entrepreneurial and innovative leader of the UA system at a time when we desperately need more of these types of leaders.”

The University of Alaska Foundation announces the winning proposal for the 2019 Angus Gavin Memorial Migratory Bird Research Grant

Michael Johns, a graduate student in biology and wildlife at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, received $14,400 to support his proposal entitled “Winter habitat use and oil exposure risks of Cassin’s auklets and pigeon guillemots in the North Pacific.” The project concentrates on identifying important winter environmental conditions and hotspots that may affect the movement and breeding success of North Pacific seabirds, which then can be used to predict habitat use and mortality risks due to climate change.

Read the full stories here


Stories that Inspire

Featuring inspiring stories from donors and students that demonstrate exactly why giving to higher education is so powerful and life-changing. Read all of the inspiring stories here.

UA Foundation News Archive

Browse our archive of previous Foundation news stories and news from around the University. Click here for our complete archive

Back to Top