Creating Alaska

This voting certificate was created by the Alaska League of Women Voters and distributed to everyone who voted in the April 24, 1956 election which ratified the Alaska State Constitution. The certificate bears a facsimile of the signature of William Egan, President of the Convention. Over 25,000 Alaskans cast their ballots that day, a record turnout level. The Constitution was ratified by a vote of 17,477 to 8,180. This certificate was provided by Ann Ringstad, who discovered it in a file of family documents.

Back to Top