BLaST

Current BLaST Undergraduate Research Experience (URE) Students

JoMarie Alba

Affiliation: University of Alaska Southeast
Major: Marine Biology
Project Title: Investigating metabolic rates of estuarine groundfish in habitats of varying glacial effluence
Mentor: Carolyn Bergstrom
Email: jcalba@alaska.edu


Richard Chen

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major:
Project Title:
Mentor: Robert Coker
Email: rchen3@alaska.edu


Sammer Dia

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: Biology
Project Title: Assessing metabolic substrate use during exercise with breath carbon isotope ratios
Mentor: Diane O'Brien
Email: sdia@alaska.edu


Samuel Eames

Affiliation: University of Alaska Southeast
Major:
Project Title:
Mentor: Marnie Chapman
Email: saeames@alaska.edu


Rebecca Gever

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: Biology
Project Title: Does plasma vitamin D explain a shift in mental cognition in trained cross-country skiers in the circumpolar North?
Mentor: Scott Jerome
Email: rgever@alaska.edu


Brianna Gilmore

 

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: Chemistry, concentration in Biochemistry
Project Title: Characterization of biofilms related to sub-arctic drinking water systems
Mentor: Jennifer Guerard
Email: bgilmore2@alaska.edu


Jonathan Gonzalez

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: Nursing
Project Title: Sulfolane degradation in extreme environments
Mentor: Mary Beth Leigh
Email: jgonzalez10@alaska.edu


Benjamin Hedges

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: Biological Sciences, concentration in Cell and Molecular Biology
Project Title: Quantitative estimation of hydrocarbon degradation by bacterial species isolated from diesel-contaminated soils in Kaltag, Alaska
Mentor: Mary Beth Leigh
Email: bhedges2@alaska.edu


Elva House

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: Biology
Project Title: The effects of various peptide concentration on pharyngeal pumping in C. elegans associated with the interaction between nicotinic acetylcholine receptors and the active binding portion of rabies virus glycoprotein
Mentor: Joshua Hincks & Karsten Hueffer
Email: elhouse@alaska.edu


Olive Kanayurak

Affiliation: Iḷisaġvik College
Major: Liberal Arts
Project Title: Determination of microbial activity in the thawing Arctic tundra permafrost: Are they living, dormant or dead?
Mentor: Linda Nicholas-Figueroa
Email: olive.kanayurak@ilisagvik.edu


Madeline McCarthy

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: Biological Sciences
Project Title: Comparison of antibiotic resistance in soils from ancient and modern permafrost
Mentor: Devin Drown
Email: mcmccarthy2@alaska.edu


Kiana Mitchell

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: Chemistry, concentration in Biochemistry
Project Title: Quantifying the Metal(loid) Bioaccessibility of Reacted Fly Ash in the Arctic
Mentor: Kyle Milke
Email: klmitchell5@alaska.edu


Diane Murph

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: Civil Engineering
Project Title: Dietary associations with the fasting breath carbon isotope ratio
Mentor: Diane O'Brien
Email: dmmurph@alaska.edu


Jaime Patkotak

Affiliation: Iḷisaġvik College
Major: Iñupiaq Studies
Project Title: Arctic Microbes: Seasonal Population Abundance
Mentor: Linda Nicholas-Figueroa
Email: jaime.patkotak@ilisagvik.edu


Raven Shaw

Affiliation: University of Alaska Southeast
Major: -
Project Title: Understanding the seasonal abundance of phytoplankton species and harmful algal blooms near the fish hatchery in Sitka, Alaska
Mentor: Chris Whitehead
Email: rshaw23@uas.alaska.edu


Fern Spaulding

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks; UA Museum of the North
Major: Biological Sciences, concentration in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Project Title: Determining gene flow between Asia and North America in waterfowl species known to be carriers of avian influenza
Mentor: Kevin Winker
Email: fspaulding@alaska.edu


Cerelia Terrell-Ruis 

Affiliation: Iḷisaġvik College
Major:
Project Title:
Mentor: Linda Nicholas-Figueroa
Email: cerelia.terrell@ilisagvik.edu


Alexander Thompson

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major:
Project Title:
Mentor:
Email:


Farimang Touray Jr.

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: Biological Sciences
Project Title: Effects of the combination of blueberry and cranberry extract on conserved markers of aging and neurodegeneration in Caenorhabditis elegans
Mentor: Malabika Maulik
Email: ftourayjr@alaska.edu


Ilya Turchaninov

Affiliation: University of Alaska Southeast
Major: Biology
Project Title: Genetics in Pink Salmon
Mentor: David Tallmon
Email: ikturchaninov@alaska.edu


Roger Vang

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: Chemistry, concentration in Biochemistry
Project Title: Haptoglobin and immunoglobulin G protein concentrations and their correlation with mercury in Steller sea lions
Mentor: Stephanie Kennedy
Email: rtvang@alaska.edu


Kira Veeder

Affiliation: University of Alaska Fairbanks
Major: -
Project Title: Retrospective analysis of total mercury and implementation of methylmercury analysis in several mammalian species including sled dogs, seals, and humans
Mentor: John Harley
Email: kveeder2@alaska.edu