Academic Affairs

Council members

The Statewide Academic Council is chaired by Vice President Dana Thomas. This group is responsible for policies and procedures regarding governance, decisions making and research for the UA system. The Council assists the Vice President in accomplishing responsibilities as outlined in Board of Regents' Regulation 10.02.020:

  1. articulating the overall academic mission;
  2. assigning the scope and responsibility for implementation of the mission;
  3. the administration and supervision of overall planning for instructional, research and creative activity, and public service programs;
  4. academic development and program review;
  5. development of the Academic Master Plan;
  6. advising the board on the status of current programs and the need for the addition or deletion of programs;
  7. facilitating student access to courses, programs, and academic support services;
  8. the review, revision, and administration of faculty personnel policies and procedures; and
  9. consulting with systemwide governance on matters of academic policy.

Dana Thomas (Chair)
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Research
University of Alaska System
Phone: 907.450.8018
dlthomas@alaska.edu


Elisha R. "Bear" Baker IV
Vice Chancellor and Provost
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.1050
erbaker@uaa.alaska.edu


Robert J. Boeckmann
Associate Professor
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.1793
rjboeckmann@uaa.alaska.edu

Richard Caulfield
Provost
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6486
provost@uas.alaska.edu


Virgil Fredenberg
Associate Professor of Education
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6082
vgfredenberg@uas.alaska.edu


Susan Henrichs
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.7096
uaf.provost@alaska.edu

Cecil Lardon
Associate Professor of Psychology
University of Alaka Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.5272
cslardon@alaska.edu


Mark Myers
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.5837
mdmyers@alaska.edu


Helena Wisniewski
Vice Provost for Research
Dean of the Graduate School
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.1196
hswisniewski@uaa.alaska.edu

Back to Top