Stop the Silence

Title IX Disclosure

Any student, university employee or third party may report sex or gender-based discrimination, including sexual harassment or sexual assault.  Reporting initiates the Title IX process. At the University of Alaska all staff, all faculty and Residence Life student employees are required to report incidents of sexual harassment and assault to their Title IX Coordinator within 24 hours. A Title IX response includes:

Outreach:
Title IX personnel will contact the complainant to inform him or her of their rights and their options. Title IX personnel will work with the individual to tailor a plan that makes it possible to continue their education and/or employment.

Interim Measures:
Access to counseling and various educational or institutional modifications can be made. These could include classroom changes, dorm changes, mentoring, tutoring, or even a no-contact order.

Informal or Formal Resolution:
The complainant can request an informal resolution, or a formal resolution that includes an investigation.  If it is found that there has been a violation of university policy, the accused individual will be subjected to consequences as defined in policy.

Privacy:
Complainants may request confidentiality, including that their name not be shared with the respondent, that the respondent not be notified of the report of complaint, or that no investigation occur. The Title IX office will consider such requests but cannot guarantee confidentiality. Title IX staff will weigh the request against the university’s obligation to provide a safe, non-discriminatory environment for all members of the university, including the complainant. If the Title IX staff concludes they can honor the request for confidentiality consistent with its obligations, it will do so, but this may limit Title IX’s ability to investigate and respond to the complaint. If the Title IX staff conclude they cannot honor the request for confidentiality, they will inform the complainant before starting an investigation, and will make all reasonable efforts to maintain the complainant’s privacy.

Title IX procedures are clearly outlined in policy and regulation. (P01.04 – Sexual and Gender-based Discrimination)

 

 

University of Alaska Title IX Contacts

University of Alaska Anchorage - All campuses:
Ronald Kamahele, Acting Title IX Coordinator/Director of Equity and Compliance
rckamahele@alaska.edu
907-786-4680
Bridget Dooley, Title IX Coordinator (on leave)
Office of Equity & Compliance
(907) 786-1424
bdooley2@uaa.alaska.edu
WEBSITE: Office of Equity and Compliance

University of Alaska Fairbanks - All campuses
Margo Griffith, Title IX Coordinator
(907) 474-7599
margo.griffith@alaska.edu
WEBSITE: Diversity and Equal Opportunity

University of Alaska Southeast- All campuses
Lori Klein, Title IX Coordinator
(907) 796-6036
laklein@alaska.edu
WEBSITE: Title IX

Anchorage

Ronald Kamahele, Acting Title IX Coordinator/Director of Equity and Compliance
rckamahele@alaska.edu
907-786-4680
Bridget Dooley, Title IX Coordinator (on leave)
Office of Equity & Compliance
(907) 786-1424
bdooley2@uaa.alaska.edu

Bethel

Casie Stockdale
Title IX Contact
castockdale@alaska.edu
907-543-4562

Dillingham

Sandra Long
Title IX Contact
sclong@alaska.edu
(907) 842-5109

Fairbanks

Dianna James
Title IX Contact; Community and Technical College human resources manager
drjames@alaska.edu
907-455-2863

Robin Brooks
Title IX Contact (Interior-Alaska Campus) ; Student Success Coordinator
rrbrooks@alaska.edu
907-474-6770

Homer

Carol Swartz
Director of Kachemak Bay Campus
ciswartz@kpc.alaska.edu
907-235-1656

Juneau

Lori Klein
Title IX Coordinator

laklein@alaska.edu
907-796-6036 

 

Kenai

Julie Cotterell
Interim Director of Student Services 
jmcotterell@kpc.alaska.edu
(907) 262-0314

Ketchikan

Gail Klein
Student Services Manager
grklein@alaska.edu
(907) 228-4508

Kodiak

Alan Fugleberg
Director Kodiak Campus
afugleberg@kodiak.alaska.edu
907-486-1273

Kotzbue

Linda Joule
Title IX Contact
Director Chukchi Campus
lcjoule@alaska.edu
907-442-3400

Mat-Su

Sandy Gravley
Student Services Director
scgravley@matsu.alaska.edu 
(907)745-9762

Diane Erickson
Director of Academic Affairs
dmerickson@matsu.alaska.edu
(907) 746-9324

Nome

Kacey Miller
Title IX Contact
klmiller@alaska.edu
(907) 543-8416

Sitka

Chris Washko
Student Services Manager 
cmwashko@alaska.edu 
(907) 747-7703

Nicole Rogers
Human Resources
nrrogers@alaska.edu
907-747-7706

Valdez

Ana Hinkle
Student Affairs Director
ahinkle@pwscc.edu
(907) 834-1612

Back to Top