Creating Alaska

Dr. Claus-M. Naske and Dr. George Rogers confer during a break.

Neva Egan and Thomas Stewart participate in small group discussions on the Alaska Statehood Movement.

Victor Fischer and Dr. Stephen Haycox of UAA participate in small group discussions.

The 49 Star Flag hangs in the Board of Regents Conference Room.

Jay Hammond served as Alaska's third governor from 1974-82.

Katie Hurley served as Chief Clerk during the Constitutional Convention. In 1978, she was the first woman in Alaska to be nominated for statewide office.

Closeup of tablecloth featuring signature of Leslie Nerland, a delegate to the convention and one-time Mayor of Fairbanks.

Neva Egan presented the University with a family heirloom during the meeting. The linen tablecloth, over one hundred years old, was signed by the delegates of the Constitutional Convention. The signatures were then embroidered onto the fabric. This valuable piece will be held in the UA Museum collections.

Jack Coghill - Constitutional Convention Delegate, member of the Territorial and State Legislatures, Lieutenant Governor of the State of Alaska (1990-94).

Victor Fischer - Constitutional Convention Delegate, member of the Territorial and State Legislatures, former Director, Institute of Social and Economic Research, UAA.

Victor Fischer, a delegate to the Alaska Constitutional Convention and member of the Advisory Committee, observes the proceedings. Seated behind Fischer is Dr. Thomas Morehouse, Katie Hurley (Chief Clerk of the Convention), Dr. George Rogers (Economics Consultant and Temporary Secretary of the Convention), Neva Egan (the State of Alaska's first First Lady) and Linda Egan.

UA President Mark Hamilton addresses the Advisory Board at the beginning of their first meeting.

Sidney Huntington served for twenty years on the Alaska Board of Fish and Game. He was named "Conservationist of the Year" three times and awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Convention Delegate George Sundborg, Sr. listens as Katie Hurley leads a small group discussion. Dr. Thomas Morehouse, Professor Emeritus of Political Science from UAA is at the right.

Neva Egan - As the wife of William Egan, Neva was the State of Alaska's first First Lady.

Back to Top